Monday, July 21, 2008

rice field yoga

I just have to say: lovin the comments!!! You guys all rock.

So Saturday Leda and I hired a tour guide who was totally amazing. I so freakin wish I could post pictures, but alas, internet cafe city once again. Soon though! So we saw two temples that day, Tanah Lot and Ulu Watu. Both were pretty amazing. Ulu Watu is something like 600 years old. While there we got to see a Kecak Dance and it was mindblowing. First a holy man comes out and sets down an offering, lights some incense (Bali is mostly Hindu), chants a bit. Then a group of maybe 30 bare-chested Balinese men that all come out and dance around, chanting what sounds like "chuck chuck chuck" in these cool patterns (it's like Ligeti on speed for the music nerds out there). The guys range in age from like 15-60. Some guys sing, some guys just chant the whole time. It has a very improvised feel, but it's all very practiced and organized. Our driver's done it before and was filling us in on the details. So after the initial chanting, different characters then come out, dressed in various costumes, and through dance tell this story of Rama and Sita and how she was kidnapped, etc. etc. The guys are like the Greek chorus, from what I gathered. I'll post pix of it in a day or so, but suffice to say Leda and I sat there with our chins to the floor. It was awesome. On our tour we also checked out a family compound, which was pretty neat. The different buildings on the compound are like different parts of the body, and the head is the temple. Neat. We ate a so-so dinner on the beach with a fantastic view (we were literally in the sand). Sunday morning we checked out of honeymoon haven (Nusa Dua) and headed to Ubud.

We are thoroughly digging Ubud.

It's such a different vibe from Nusa Dua, but such a wonderful vibe! I have to say I love both the beach vibe and the mountain vibe - good good stuff on both counts. But if someone held a gun to my head and said "you must live in Bali", it'd be Ubud all the way.

There's a big expat community in Ubud, and I can really see why. It's super lush and green and beautiful here. It's also the cultural center of Bali, so there are tons of art galleries, little shops, and even live music that doesn't suck. We found a great yoga studio called Yoga Barn - recommended by several teachers - and we took our first class there this morning, taught by a girl from LA, go figyah. She was great. The main room at the studio has only 1 wall, the rest open space. We did yoga facing a rice field. The teacher literally said "open your heart to the rice field." I mean what's not to love???

The food's been amazing and the shopping is a bit out of control too. My infamously horrid negotiating skills are actually improving. They basically expect you to bargain here, and the little dance that goes down is so crazy-interesting. The seller acts offended at first, so then you say "okay don't need" and you start to walk away, then they say "okay okay okay" and start to negotiate. Leda's the master, but I'm getting better.

Today we ate at a cafe called Three Monkeys, and a local painter had art on display there. I bought one of his paintings - for $150 USD - and I'm so excited. It's just beautiful. And it makes me happy to support the local guys. Oh and speaking of local, whenever we eat rice it's locally grown. How mind boggling is that?

Tomorrow is my birthday but not really - won't be officially until midnight local time - so I guess that means I have to celebrate for 2 days. The Asia July 22nd and the US July 22nd. Heh. Back in Singapore tomorrow night then head to Thailand on Friday night. Will post pix soon! Love!

9 comments:

Liz said...

Hey lady - I wish I was there with you! Miss you tons, you are missing some serious humidity and the tease of rain and a cooldown (it hasn't come yet)...HAPPPY BIRTHDAY, enjoy enjoy enjoy with Leda and please ignore the text I sent you from last week saying "sorry I missed your bday". BAH! XOXOXOXOX

Chrigu said...

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Wow, what a place to celebrate... "Open your heart to the rice field"? I guess reading these descriptions, we're about to open our heart to all of Asia... Have a wonderful birthday, thousands of good wishes are flying across a couple of oceans!! We'll celebrate one more time when you're back!
Take care,
Christian & Jutta

Unknown said...

HHHHAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPYYYYYY BIRTHDAY!!!! YAAAAY!!! HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, SARAH LYNCH!!! YAY!!! SARAH WAS BORN 29 YEARS AGO TODAY!!! YAAAY - HOW HAPPY THE WORLD IS THAT SARAH LYNCH EXISTS!!! YAY!! HAPPY SARAH LYNCH DAY, EVERYBODY!!!! HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO THE GREAT MISS SARAH LYNCH!!!!! YAY!!!!

Love,
Michelle

Unknown said...

Hey there

Happy Birthday. I had no idea about this blog. Mom, just clued me into today, on your birthday. Yay! Just got caught up here. What a wonderful way of dealing your "friend" grief. Soon he'll get bored with all the good times and just find another party. Cheers. And I'm stoked you're having the time of your life.

Leslie said...

Happy Bali Birthday!!! I hope you have a great day!!

Lauren Wellliehausen said...

Happy Birthday, gorgeous! It sounds like you figured out the most beautiful way to celebrate, in Bali. I hope you breathe freely and smile often today. Much love!

Anonymous said...

I have seen the pics and it is simply breathtaking over there! I know that you are having such a wonderful time. You deserve it girl!
Happy Bday!!How young does that make you? Damn it! I am still older! Catch up will you!!!!
The pics are great, the journal entries are informative yet, cute with the way your spin your tales of adventure.
When you get back stateside, please give a ring (or simply drop a line), we need to meet East coast or West coast. Somehow we will make it work. Heck, we could even run into each other somewhere. Not completely unheard of you know.

Much Love and HUGE hugs,
Wendy
(I know it's Tam's account, I have been reluctant to open my own)

AVinNYC said...

Happy Birthday doll! Miss you tons, but SO thrilled that you're having such an amazing trip! Hugs- Abby

Unknown said...

happy birthday lovely! you've got the rest of your trip to celebrate. when you come back we'll have to celebrate again nyc style, i'll break out some hip hop moves...hee hee....NOT!